Metro United Way names Fischer aide Reno-Weber as new CEO of $27M chapter

Theresa Reno-Weber

Theresa Reno-Weber comes to the United Way’s Louisville area affiliate from Mayor Greg Fischer‘s officer, where her broad portfolio included a 200-person staff responsible for strategy, human resources, IT and other functions. She’s been Fischer’s Chief of Performance and Technology since 2012.

Her appointment as president and CEO is effective Jan. 1, United Way said in a press release today.

Reno-Weber is replacing Joe Tolan, who is retiring in December after 30 years, including the last 15 as chief executive. She was picked by a succession planning committee of current and former members of the board of directors.

Before the mayor’s office, Reno-Weber was a senior consultant for management advisory giant McKinsey & Co. from 2008-2012, according to her LinkedIn profile. She graduated from the Coast Guard Academy in 2000 with a bachelor’s in public policy and international relations. After working six years for the Coast Guard, she earned a master’s in public policy and international security at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government in 2008.

Metro United Way’s budget was $26.6 million in the year ended April 30, 2015, vs. $28.1 million in the prior fiscal year, according to the most recent IRS tax return posted on its website. It had 94 employees, and reported $26.7 million in contributions for the period vs. $27.4 million in the prior fiscal year. Here’s its GuideStar page with previous IRS returns and other information.

Joe Tolan
Tolan’s pay: $280K

The chapter didn’t disclose Reno-Weber’s compensation; we’ve asked for that information, and will update this post if we hear back. Tolan was paid $229,200 in salary plus $50,714 in other benefits in fiscal 2014, according to the IRS return. The other highest-paid employees were Gilbert Betz, chief strategic officer, $131,939 salary and $34,021 in benefits; and CFO Phillip Bond, $123,843 and $67,095. Here’s the staff roster.

United Way focuses on helping kids and families with basic needs such as childcare and after-school activities in seven counties Kentucky and southern Indiana counties: Jefferson, Bullitt, Oldham, Shelby, Clark, Floyd and Harrison. Here’s the list of agencies it funds; read more in its annual report.

The selection committee’s members were board chair Jane C. Morreau; James Abruzzo, J. Barry Barker, Joseph Brown, Mary Gwynne Dougherty, Chris Hermann (chair elect), Mark Kristy, Tim Sanders (UAW and Central Labor Council), Justin M. Suer, and Vincent T. Walker. Here’s the current board of directors.

You may post a comment anonymously simply by leaving all the fields blank. But please: no personal attacks.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s